Ulster launch Camogie & Hurling Championships

Ulster launches Hurling and Camogie Championships

Ulster GAA and Ulster Camogie have launched their respective Championships together at the new Queen’s Pavilion in Belfast.

Players and Managers from both codes were in high demand at the media launch which announced the fixtures and new reduced pricing structures for Ulster Championships 2012.

Speaking about the NWP Ulster Camogie Championship, Ulster Camogie Chairperson Kathleen Woods said, “The league this year has been an amazing window of opportunity for the Ulster ladies.  Derry have led the way by winning their section of the league and taking Ulster back to playing with the big girls.  We have our Ulster Division One side.  The Ulster Camogs are definitely making their way up through the ranks.

“I look forward to a very exciting and wonderful Ulster Championship with the finals to be held on June 17th at Casement Park. We thank NWP Recycling for their continued sponsorship for our Championships.

Speaking at the launch Ulster GAA President Aogán Ó Fearghail said, “The hurlers of Armagh and Derry will open the Ulster Hurling Championship on Sunday 17th June at the Morgan Athletic Grounds, and it’s sure to be a game of passion and glory, and the start of an exciting Championship.

“None of us can deny that Antrim is the side to beat as they go for their 11-in-a-row Ulster title, however I am confident that the other three competing counties are up for causing an upset.

“Hurling in Ulster has been strengthened in recent times with the introduction to the Tain Club League, last weekend’s success of Ulster Counties in the Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Cups.   And Donegal’s participation in this year’s Ulster Minor Hurling championship proves that Hurling is on the up in Ulster and we hope the Ulster Championship will inspire young people to take up the hurl.”

Photo 1 L-R Siobhan McKenna (Monaghan), Rosie Crowe (Cavan), Bernie Murray (Armagh) Caolan Woods (NWP Recycling), Kathleen Woods (Ulster Camogie Chair)  Sinead Cassidy, Grainne McGoldrick (Derry) Catherine McGourty (Down) Front- Aisling Corr (Tyrone), Rachael Merry (Armagh) Meabh Laverty (Antrim) Claire Garvey (Armagh), Aisling Jackson (Antrim)

Photo 2 L-R Joe Baldwin (Antrim), Tom Walsh (Cavan), Alastair McGilligan (Down) Chris Heaney (Tyrone) Front- John A Mullan (Derry) Benny Brunton (Armagh) Malachy Trainor (Monaghan)